Alan J. Freedman Award

Recipients of the Alan J. Freedman Award are individuals who, in the course of their careers, have made outstanding contributions to the marine accessories industry through leadership, creativity, and personal motivation.  The following are the categories for consideration:
  • Marine aftermarket or OEM manufacturer
  • Marine representative
  • Member of a marine-focused media
  • Boat dealer
  • Marine distributor
  • Marine trade association staff person


2024: Michele Goldsmith, Soundings Trade Only

Michele Goldsmith

2023: Matt Bridgewater, Gemlux

Matt Bridgewater

2022: Greg Lentine, NorCross Marine Products

Greg Lentine

2021: Will Keene, Edson International

Will Keene

2020: Bill Watters, Syntec Industries

Bill Watters

2019: John H. Thommen, Ocean Marketing

John Thommen

2018: Giuseppe Carnevali, Navionics

Giuseppe Carnevali

2017: Frank Marciano, Dometic Americas

Frank Marciano

2016: Ken and Rick Garelick, Garelick Manufacturing Co.

Ken and Rick Garelick

2014: Scott M. Lewit, Structural Composites, Inc. and COMPSYS, Inc.

Scott M. Lewit

2012: Bob Long, Marine Concepts

Robert "Bob" Long

2011: Ed McKiernan, Dometic Corporation

Ed McKiernan

2008: David Blackburn, Faria Marine Instruments

David Blackburn

2007: Bob Latham, Latham Marine, Inc.

Bob Latham

2006: George Bellwoar, Perko, Inc.

George Bellwoar

2005: James W. Taylor, Taylor Made Group

James W. Taylor

2004: Robert W. Selig, Davis Instruments

Robert W. Selig

2003: Fred Kegelmeyer, Brunger Export Co.

Fred Kegelmeyer

2002: Lew Haeck, Attwood Corporation

Lew Haeck

2001: L. Jeremy Crews, Marine Development Corporation

L. Jeremy Crews

2000: Byron L. Godbersen, Midwest Industries

Byron L. Godbersen

1999: Joseph G. Miller, William F. Miller Agency

Joseph G. Miller

1998: Allen Freeman, Spartan Products

Allen Freeman

1997: Darrell Lowrance, Lowrance Electronics, Inc.

Darrell Lowrance

1996: Thomas H. Lorenz, Sr., Lorenz & Jones, Inc.

Thomas H. Lorenz, Sr.

1995: Bette Kelly, National Marine Distributors Association

Bette Kelly

1994: Marvin S. Perkins, Perko, Inc.

Marvin S. Perkins

1993: S.M. "Bud" Osgood, S.M. Osgood Co.

S.M. "Bud" Osgood

1992: Bill Taylor, Nelson A. Taylor Co., Inc.

Bill Taylor

1991: Carl Spiegel, Marine Development & Research Corp.

Carl Spiegel

1990: Charles "Jeep" Quire, Wellington Leisure Products

Charles "Jeep" Quire

1989: Charles A. Jones, Boating Industry Magazine

Charles A. Jones

1988: Arthur Bretnall Sr., Raritan Engineering Co., Inc.

Arthur Bretnall Sr.

1987: Herbert Vandermey, Michigan Wheel Corp.

Herbert VanderMey

1986: Saul Garelick, Garelick Manufacturing Co.

Saul Garelick

1985: Larry Snyder, Tempo Products Co.

Larry Snyder

1984 Inaugural Alan J. Freedman Award Recipient: Don Rocheleau, Attwood Corporation

Don Rocheleau