SOBA Award Winners Announced at 2017 Annual Conference

The States Organization for Boating Access (SOBA) presented the 2017 Outstanding Project Awards, State Program and Individual Excellence awards at the 31st Annual Boating Access Conference in Anchorage, Alaska on Wednesday, August 30,2017.

These awards recognize projects, individuals and organizations that have done an exemplary job in providing safe and well-designed public access to the waters of our nation.

The 2017 recipients are as follows:
  • Outstanding Project Award –Winners: North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission, Vandemere Boating Access Area (pictured above) & PND Engineers and the City and Borough of Juneau (CBJ), Statter Harbor Launch Ramp Facility.
  • State Program Excellence Award – State Clean Vessel Act: Florida Department of Environmental Protection
  • State Program Excellence Award – a Boating Infrastructure Grant Program: South Carolina Dept. of Natural Resources
  • 2017 President’s Award: Puerto Rico Dept. of Natural and Environmental Resources, Parguera Boat Ramp
  • Outstanding Service Award: Fred Bedell, Maryland Dept. of Natural Resources
  • Professional Service Award: Al Wolselgel, Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission
  • William H. Ivers Award: Steve Miller, Wisconsin Dept. of Natural Resources (posthumously)
A full description of the awards and the awards process can be found on SOBA’s website, HERE.

Please read the full press release